Coming clean as a college football junkie.

My name is Derek and I’m a college football junkie. I’m not really proud of that fact or really ashamed of it either. How did I come to the conclusion that I have a problem? It’s not really hard to find the evidence, I watch preseason press conferences intently. It’s the equivalent of appointment television for me. Not only do I watch them but I live tweet them. Yeah, that’s right, I live tweet press conferences from four weeks before the season even starts. I go back and re-watch them, sometimes twice, to go over any information In which I might have missed. As if that isn’t enough, I read every story I can find about the press conference I just watched. But that’s not even the tip of the iceberg folks. As I’m writing this Missouri vs South Carolina from 2013 is airing on ESPNU and you can rest assured that my TV is tuned to it. And after that Paul Finebaum, then CFB live, then a bit of a break for dinner before making sure I DVR the Ohio State Michigan game for later watching. I follow recruiting with a zeal that is truly unhealthy, letting my mood be temporarily ruined or elated at the whim of seventeen year old kids. I scan through message boards, fan tweets,podcasts  looking for any bit of information I can find. 

Then the season starts…

I will be anxious all day on the first Thursday of the College Football season. I said Thursday, not Saturday folks. I will spend all day anticipating getting back home, ordering a pizza and living in bliss for the next few hours. But that’s nothing compared to Saturday, Since adulthood the Friday before the first full Saturday of College football has become my Christmas Eve. I’m excited, talkative, and yes I have difficulty sleeping which works in my advantage because  I try to sleep until College Gameday and from that moment on for about the next 15 hours I am consumed. In the hours before my beloved Fighting Irish take the field I’m restless and I can’t eat or stay still for very long. My family and my gf probably think that I’m crazy and for that I don’t blame them. But it’s not like I’m going to stop. College football is an all consuming passion and there is nothing quite like it in the world, it can bring out my best and worst all in the same Saturday, all in the same hour, all in the same series. College football is my drug of choice and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

